2022 Winnipeg Election Results

Click here for the latest 2022 election results. ⬅️

Barbra Thiessen

Candidate in the Seven Oaks - 3 Trustee Candidates race.

Their response to our candidate questionnaire can be read below.

News that mentions this candidate is listed at the bottom of the page.

Our questionnaire and candidate data retrieval processes are available in our FAQ.

Questionnaire Response

Barbra Thiessen - Seven Oaks - 3

What got you into politics?

I am running for school trustee.  The people that i am supporting are not eligible to vote.  I decided to run as a trustee to give a voice to those who may not be able to.  I do not consider running for trustee as a political venture.

What experience will you bring to compliment your role as (Mayor / Councillor / School Trustee)?

I have approx 20 years of volunteer experience with an organization who directly impacts the learning experiences of those enrolled in grades K to 8.  Over those 20 years I have had many conversations with both parents and students.  This knowledge will be valuable at the board room table of the school division I hope to be voted into.

What are some issues that you would like to stand for in your role as (Mayor / Councillor / School Trustee), and why are these issues important to you?

As we are coming out of a pandemic I strongly believe that it’s time to bring Mental Health to the table as a discussion that is as equal to that of graduation rates, budget decisions and teacher recruitment.

News that mentions Barbra Thiessen

Showing news articles published after May 1st 2022. Article summaries are selected randomly from the mentioned candidates. Our news gathering process is explained in our FAQ.

Winnipeg school board election results

October 27, 2022

CTV - ...Ward 3 Evan Krosney (ELECTED) Teresa Jaworski* (ELECTED) Richard Sawka* (ELECTED) Edward Ploszay* (ELECTED) Jessica Bridges Rachhvir Dhaliwal Barbra Thiessen St. James-Assiniboia School Division Centre Ward Rachelle Wood (ELECTED) Craig Glennie* (ELECTED) Michael Cabral (ELECTED) Pierre Attallah ...