Devi Sharma

Candidate in the Old Kildonan Councillor Candidates race.

Devi can be reached on social media, or at

News that mentions this candidate is listed at the bottom of the page.

Our candidate data retrieval process is available in our FAQ.

News that mentions Devi Sharma

Showing news articles published after May 1st 2018. Article summaries are selected randomly from the mentioned candidates. Our news gathering process is explained in our FAQ.

1 2 3

Winnipeg’s integrity commissioner’s budget in line for big boost

September 6, 2018

Winnipeg Sun - ...integrity commissioner’s office and to ensure that she can continue to provide service to city council and the citizens of Winnipeg,” said Coun. Devi Sharma (Old Kildonan), the committee’s chair. The budget hike still requires full city council...

BRODBECK: Bowman’s growth tax will be expanded post-election

August 29, 2018

Winnipeg Sun - ...John Orlikow, Mike Pagtakhan and Russ Wyatt. Those opposed were Jeff Browaty, Shawn Dobson, Scott Gillingham, Janice Lukes, Jason Schreyer, and Devi Sharma. The proponents of the tax claim new housing construction doesn’t pay its fair share of development costs, including “off-site”...

New theatre a jewel for Seven Oaks SD

August 27, 2018

Winnipeg Free Press - ...through (MaryAnn Mihychuk, member of Parliament for Kildonan-St. Paul, a City of Winnipeg community incentive grant ($87,000) through Coun. Devi Sharma (Old Kildonan), with support from Coun. Ross Eadie (Mynarski). The Richardson Foundation added $150,000. Many organizations, such as Sikh Temples...

Four councillors still unopposed in upcoming civic election

August 13, 2018

Winnipeg Sun - ...Thompson Stephanie Meilleur Bryanna Spina Jeff Palmer Mynarski x-Ross Eadie Micheal Wiens North Kildonan x-Jeff Browaty Old Kildonan x-Devi Sharma Brad Gross Point Douglas Vivian Santos Kate Sjoberg Dean Koshelanyk Filippo Palmisani River Heights- Fort Garry x-John Orlikow Garth Steek ...

Russ Wyatt misses first council meeting since being charged with sexual assault

July 19, 2018

Winnipeg Free Press - ... Wyatt was granted an approved leave of absence from the meeting for a “doctor’s appointment,” thanks to a motion put forward by Couns. Devi Sharma and Ross Eadie. It passed quickly, and unanimously. Coun. Russ Wyatt, who was arrested July 10 and charged with sexual assault, was a no-show at...

Russ Wyatt absent from council Thursday after being charged with sexual assault

July 19, 2018

CBC Manitoba - nature but the two knew each other, police said. The motion to grant Wyatt's leave for Thursday's meeting was introduced by speaker Coun. Devi Sharma and seconded by Coun. Ross...

Councillor Russ Wyatt no-show for final Winnipeg City Council meeting

July 19, 2018

Global News - ...before the summer break. Coun. Russ Wyatt was granted a “leave of absence” for Thursday’s meeting for “a doctor’s appointment.” Coun. Devi Sharma moved a motion granting him the absence, and it was seconded by Coun. Ross Eadie. Wyatt was arrested and charged with sexual assault on July 11....

At least three fresh faces headed for City Hall

July 6, 2018

Winnipeg Sun - ... x-Ross Eadie North Kildonan none *(Incumbent Jeff Browaty is considering a run for councillor or mayor but has not registered.) Old Kildonan x-Devi Sharma Point Douglas Vivian Santos Kate Sjoberg Dean Koshelanyk River Heights- Fort Garry x-John Orlikow Kurt Morton St. Boniface x-Matt Allard ...

Loyalists, swing votes and contrarians: What voting patterns tell us about Winnipeg city hall

July 4, 2018

CBC Manitoba - ...since they have historically voted with the mayor less than 35 per cent of the time. The remaining councillors — Lukes, Jeff Browaty and Speaker Devi Sharma — collectively sided with the mayor between 60 and 80 per cent of the time. Vandal says that in order to gain support, councillors need to...

GET SET: Registration for council candidates opens Saturday

June 29, 2018

Winnipeg Sun - ... Councillors who say they’ll register to run for re-election: Janice Lukes (South Winnipeg-St. Norbert) *Running in the new Waverley West ward. Devi Sharma (Old Kildonan) Matt Allard (St. Boniface) Scott Gillingham (St. James-Brooklands-Weston) John Orlikow (River Heights-Fort Garry) Brian Mayes...

1 2 3